I read a lot. Google Now really helps push some interesting articles to my feed, so I give it credit for a lot of what comes to mind.

I woke up this morning to an article about the various consoles, and who’s winning the ‘big war’, and how exclusive games and content play a factor into it.

I was a long time Playstation fan. Having had an original Playstation, PS3 and PS4. While they do have a lot of great exclusive content and games, I’ll be honest – I’ve never purchased ANY of it. None.

Fuck, I never got any exclusive content on Xbox 360 when I had it.

Fast forward to Xbox One. I have Gears of War 4, Forza 6, Forza Horizon 3.. Many more. Microsoft produces some top quality games (and for any who have played FH3, you know what I’m talking about).

The article made several interesting points:

  1. That Playstation is kicking Microsofts virtual ass at game exclusives. This is mostly because of some content delays or cancellations by Microsoft. And 2017 appears to be a good year for Sony and their game exclusives (though, I think Xbox had a lot of great exclusive games in 2016).
  2. That in the end, neither Playstation or Xbox is winning.

So if neither are winning, who is?

maxresdefault (1)

Apparently… PC.

Which, ironically,  is still dominated by Microsoft with their Windows platform.

And, the more I think about it.. It makes sense.

Microsoft is making their exclusive Xbox games cross compatible with Windows 10. Gears of War 4 and Forza Horizon 3 are both playable on PC. And Sony has something similar coming down the pipe for their games. So, while each platforms games are only playable on their console and not the other, in the end, Microsoft will get play-ability through their PC platform.

But not just that… look at distributors like Steam. There are thousands upon thousands of games out there only playable on PC (granted, the majority are garbage.. Has anyone tried that Make America Great Again game? You know what I’m talking about…). Indie developers dominate the PC market.. and yes, once and awhile you’ll find an amazing indie game out there.

Side Note: Humble Bundles are great for getting a lot of indie games on Steam for cheap.

But, who really builds a gaming PC for just indie games? When I look at my PC gaming library.. I have almost 100 steam games.. a few on Origin (EA), and the obligatory Blizzard games (of course).

I’ve never really even thought about a specific console for their exclusive games…

Wait.. That’s a lie. I did buy a Nintendo Switch… And I don’t regret it. Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild is fucking amazing. I think Nintendo is the exception to the rule though. Personally, I didn’t buy the Switch for major titles available on Xbox. I got it for the Nintendo content and indie games (super excited for Has-Been Heroes that’s out in 3 days).

I know both Microsoft and Sony definitely flaunt their exclusive games as a reason to buy their consoles.. but does it really play a factor into what you buy? Older and established gamers have their preference already.. so for new gamers, does it make a difference?

That’s a question I can’t answer.. While I love Playstation, I’m squarely in the Xbox camp now for a lot of reasons – and maybe Microsoft exclusive games do play a bit of a factor now for me.. but I love the feel of the controller, and the interface, and the Deals with Gold.

What are your thoughts? Who’s winning the war? Do exclusive titles play a factor into your purchase(s)?

 

